Announcing LCEF’s Photo Contest Winners

September 17, 2018 | Posted by Demian Farnworth

The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod (LCMS) has many historical and beautiful churches from the East Coast to the West Coast. To celebrate this treasure of our Synod, a few weeks ago we launched a photo contest to help us capture their timeless and awe-inspiring architecture.

We are pleased to announce the winners. Drum roll, please …

FIRST PLACE: Good Shepherd Lutheran Church, Herndon, Va. – Myra Niemeier
SECOND PLACE: St. Paul Lutheran Church, Austin, Texas – Jeremy Clifton
THIRD PLACE: Emmanuel Ev. Lutheran Church (Soest), Fort Wayne, Ind. – Adam Griebel

Honorable Mentions

Thank you for all of your submissions. While we are not able to highlight all of the photos submitted to the contest due to such a high amount of entries, we did want to show a handful that stuck out. We hope you enjoy them.

(Note: Not every entry is listed below.) 

Immanuel Lutheran Church, Hamilton, Ohio – Nancy Rasch


Trinity Lutheran Church, Jefferson City, Missouri – Karin Schatte


St. Paul Lutheran Church, Beecher, Illinois – Courtney Selucky


St. John’s Lutheran Church, Marysville, Ohio – Rebekah Headings


Divine Shepherd Lutheran Church, Black Hawk, South Dakota – Morgan Phillips


Trinity Lutheran Church, New Lenox, Illinois – Jeff McDonald


Trinity Lutheran Church, Athens, Wisconsin – Sue Heckendorf


Immanuel Lutheran Church, Davenport, Iowa – Vickie Conger


Salem Lutheran Church, Tomball, Texas – Joey Bluege


Shepherd of the Lakes Lutheran Church, Brighton, Michigan – Gail Malatz


Trinity Lutheran Church, Sheboygan, Wisconsin – Luke Otten


St. James Lutheran Church, Lafayette, Indiana – Mary Myers


St. John’s Lutheran Church, Stewartville, Minnesota – Janelle Fistler


Trinity Lutheran Church, Savannah, Georgia – Becky Reeve
Demian Farnworth
Senior Content Writer for the Lutheran Church Extension Fund.